Shell Malaysia Motorcycle Grand Prix – Race Results 30 October 2016

By October 31, 2016 Uncategorized


Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) became the season’s ninth MotoGP winner with victory in a wet race reduced to nineteen laps. Second place went to Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) who led for a while before encountering front tyre grip problems with third spot going to Jorge Lorenzo (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) who inherited the position after front runners Andrea Iannone (Ducati Team) and Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) both crashed out.

Hector Barbera (Avintia Racing) finished fourth, his best ever MotoGP placing, after a battle with his team-mate Loris Baz (Avintia racing) who was fifth with Maverick Vinales (Team SUZUKI ECSTAR) in sixth.


1    Andrea DOVIZIOSO (ITA)      Ducati Team                                   Ducati                           42’27.333
2    Valentino ROSSI (ITA)            Movistar Yamaha MotoGP          Yamaha                        +3.115
3    Jorge LORENZO (SPA)           Movistar Yamaha MotoGP           Yamaha                       +11.924


Johan Zarco (Ajo Motorsport) became the first rider to retain the Moto2 World Championship after a decisive win damp conditions at the Sepang track. Zarco took the lead from Franco Morbidelli (Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS) with six laps to go and rode away to win by over three seconds. Morbidelli took second place ahead of Jonas Folger (Dynavolt Intact GP) in third.

Fourth place went to Lorenzo Baldassarri (Forward Team) with local hero Hafizh Syahrin (Petronas Raceline Malaysia) fifth with Thomas Luthi (Garage Plus Interwetten) failing in his championship challenge by finishing sixth.


1    Johann ZARCO (FRA)                       Ajo Motorsport                                    Kalex                    45’51.036
2   Franco MORBIDELLI (ITA)             Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS         Kalex                     +3.256
3   Jonas FOLGER (GER)                       Dynavolt Intact GP                             Kalex                     +3.689


In a crash-riddled dry race victory went to Francesco Bagnaia (Pull & Bear Aspar Mahindra Team) after he was the only survivor of a multi rider leading group crash at turn seven which saw four of the leading group of five riders all slide off in unison. The riders who came to grief were Brad Binder (Red Bull KTM Ajo), Joan Mir (Leopard Racing), Lorenzo Della Porta (Sky Racing Team) and Fabio Di Giannantonio (Gresini Racing Moto3). This left Bagnaia with a significant lead which he maintained to the flag. Second place went to Jakub Kornfeil with rookie Bo Bensneyder taking the last step on the podium in third.

In fourth place was Fabio Quartararo (Leopard Racing) with Andrea Locatelli (Leopard Racing) fifth and Marcos Ramirez (Platinum Bay Real Estate) sixth.


1    Francesco BAGNAIA (ITA)                  Pull & Bear Aspar Mahindra Team           Mahindra                   29’29.351
2   Jakub KORNFEIL (CZE)                      Drive M7 SIC Racing Team                         Honda                        +7.108
3   Bo BENDSNEYDER (NED)                 Red Bull KTM Ajo                                          KTM                           +7.253

Leave a Reply