Red Bull Indianapolis Grand Prix, Race Results 10 August 2014

By August 12, 2014 August 15th, 2014 News, Uncategorized

Red Bull Indianapolis Grand Prix, Race Results


10 August 2014


It looked a bit like a Yamaha track, until…



Marc Marquez’s ( Repsol Honda)win was his tenth of the season and his tenth successive win making him the first MotoGP rider to achieve this feat since Mick Doohan in 1997 who also rode a Repsol Honda. It was also the one hundredth win for a Spanish rider in the MotoGP class and the five hundredth win for a Spanish rider in Grand Prix racing across all classes.


Marquez took the lead on the eleventh lap after both Lorenzo and Rossi ran wide on a bend and gradually built ip a comfortable lead to win from Jorge Lorenzo (Movistar Yamaha) in second and Valention Rossi (Movistar Yamaha) third.


Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda) finished fourth and the leading Ducati was Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) who was seventh.


The top open class finisher was Scott Redding (GO&FUN Honda Gresini) in ninth.




1st:                          Marc Marquez (SPA)                       Repsol Honda                                                    42’07.041

2nd:                         Jorge Lorenzo (SPA)                       Movistar Yamaha                                             +1.803

3rd:                          Valentino Rossi (ITA)                     Movistar Yamaha                                             +6.558




In a shortened 16 lap race which was restarted after a red flag caused by a multi rider crash on the fourth lap of the first race saw Mika Kallio (Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex) take the holeshot and lead all the way to the chequered flag.


Second place, after a race-long battle with Dominic Aegerter (Technomag CarXpert Suter) and Esteve Rabat (Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex) went to Maverick Vinales (Paginas Amarillas HP 40 Kalex) with Aegerter eventually claiming third.


Championship leader Esteve Rabat finished fourth resulting in his Championship lead to team mate Kallio now being reduced to 7 points.


1st:                          Mika Kallio (FIN)                              Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex                      26’07.410

2nd:                         Maverick Vinales (SPA)                    Paginas Amarillas HP 40 Kalex                   +1.380

3rd:                          Dominic Aegerter (SWI)                    Technomag CarXpert Suter                         +1.696



Moto 3


In his 116th Grand Prix ride Efren Vazquez (SaxoPrint-RTG Honda) took his first ever Grand Prix win after a race long battle with a leading group that, at one stage was made up of 10 riders.


Second place went to Romano Fenati (SKY Racing Team VR46 KTM) who led onto the final straight but was overtaken by Vazquez just before the finishing line. In third place was Championship leader Jack Miller (Red Bull KTM Ajo) with Alexis Masbou (Ongetta-Rivacold Honda) finishing fourth after an incredible ride which saw him placed at the end of the field after a first lap incident.


Estrella Galicia 0,0 Honda team mates Alex Rins and Alex Marquez finished fifth and sixth respectively. Miller


Miller has now extended his Championship lead to 21 points from Efren Vazquez.



1st:                          Efren Vazquez (SPA)                      SaxoPrint-RTG Honda                                    39’12.977

2nd:                         Romano Fenati (ITA)                      SKY Racing Team VR46                                   +0.065

3rd:                          Jack Miller (AUS)                              Red Bull KTM Ajo                                             +0.219


World Championship Standings 10 August 2014,,,,
After 10 Rounds ,,,,
1,Marc MARQUEZ,Honda,SPA,250
2,Dani PEDROSA,Honda,SPA,161
3,Valentino ROSSI,Yamaha,ITA,157
4,Jorge LORENZO,Yamaha,SPA,117
5,Andrea DOVIZIOSO,Ducati,ITA,108
6,Pol ESPARGARO,Yamaha,SPA,78
7,Aleix ESPARGARO,Forward Yamaha,SPA,77
8,Andrea IANNONE,Ducati,ITA,62
9,Bradley SMITH,Yamaha,GBR,58
10,Stefan BRADL,Honda,GER,56
1,Esteve RABAT,Kalex,SPA,183
2,Mika KALLIO,Kalex,FIN,176
3,Maverick VIÑALES,Kalex,SPA,140
4,Dominique AEGERTER,Suter,SWI,112
5,Simone CORSI,Kalex,ITA,96
6,Thomas LUTHI,Suter,SWI,68
7,Anthony WEST,Speed Up,AUS,65
8,Luis SALOM,Kalex,SPA,62
9,Johann ZARCO,Caterham Suter,FRA,52
10,Jonas FOLGER,Kalex,GER,47
2,Efren VAZQUEZ,Honda,SPA,137
3,Alex MARQUEZ,Honda,SPA,133
4,Romano FENATI,KTM,ITA,130
5,Alex RINS,Honda,SPA,118
6,Alexis MASBOU,Honda,FRA,92
8,Miguel OLIVEIRA,Mahindra,POR,62
9,Brad BINDER,Mahindra,RSA,56

Leave a Reply