Motul Grand Prix of Japan – Qualifying Results 15 October 2016

By October 16, 2016 Uncategorized


Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) will start from pole after getting the 64th pole of his career late in Q2, thus equalling the poles of both Marquez and Lorenzo. Second on the starting grid will be Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) with third going to a battered Jorge Lorenzo (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) after high-siding during FP3.

In fourth spot will be Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) with Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda) fifth and Aleix Espargaro (Team SUZUKI ECSTAR) sixth after out qualifying his team-mate Maverick Vinales (Team SUZUKI ECSTAR) who qualified seventh.

Front row:

1    Valentino ROSSI (ITA)                            Movistar Yamaha MotoGP                  Yamaha                1’43.954
2    Marc MARQUEZ (SPA)                           Repsol Honda Team                             Honda                   +0.180
3    Jorge LORENZO (SPA)                           Movistar Yamaha MotoGP                  Yamaha                 +0.267


Pole went to Moto2 World Champion and current championship leader Johann Zarco (Ajo Motorsport) with a new Motegi pole record. After holding on to provisional pole for most of the qualifying session Thomas Luthi (Garage Plus Interwetten) ended up in second spot with Franco Morbidelli (Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS) maintaining his recent good for to qualify third.

Championship contender Sam Lowes (Federal Oil Gresini Moto2) qualified fourth with Sandro Cortese (Dynavolt Intact GP) fifth and Axel Pons (AGR Team) sixth. Alex Rins (Paginas Amarillas HP 40), who only sits one point behind Zarco in the championship race had a poor qualifying after crashing on Friday. He qualified in twenty-second place.

Front row:

1     Johann ZARCO (FRA)                        Ajo Motorsport                                       Kalex                     1’49.961
2    Thomas LUTHI (SWI)                        Garage Plus Interwetten                       Kalex                      +0.067
3    Franco MORBIDELLI (ITA)              Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS             Kalex                      +0.356


The fastest qualifier Hiroki Ono (Honda Team Asia) will not start from pole after being demoted three places for riding too slowly in some sectors during qualifying.

First place on the starting grid will therefore go to Andrea Migno (SKY Racing Team VR46) with newly crowned World Champion Brad Binder (Red Bull KTM Ajo) in second place and Enea Bastianini (Gresini Racing Moto3) third. Ono will start from fourth place ahead of Nicolo Bulaga (SKY Racing Team VR46) in fifth and Lorenzo Dalla Porta (SKY Racing Team VR46) sixth.

Front row:

1    Andrea MIGNO (ITA)                        SKY Racing Team VR46             KTM                           1’56.529
2   Brad BINDER (RSA)                           Red Bull KTM Ajo                       KTM                           +0.130
3   Enea BASTIANINI (ITA)                    Gresini Racing Moto3                Honda                        +0.135

Leave a Reply