Commercial Bank Grand Prix of Qatar Race Results – 20 March 2016

By March 25, 2016 Uncategorized


 Jorge Lorenzo (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) started the defence of his MotoGP World Championship with an emphatic win in true Lorenzo style. He controlled the second half of the race eventually winning by more than 2 seconds ahead of Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) who passed Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) into turn one on the final lap and held on to take second  with Marquez third.

Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) finished fourth, just 0.1 second behind Marquez with Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda Team) some distance behind in fifth and MavericK Vinales (Team Suzuki Ecstar) sixth.


1     Jorge LORENZO (SPA)       Movistar Yamaha MotoGP        Yamaha                 42’28.452
2    Andrea DOVIZIOSO (ITA)      Ducati Team           Ducati                 +2.019
3    Marc MARQUEZ (SPA)       Repsol Honda Team           Honda                  +2.287


 Johann Zarco’s (Ajo Motorsport)defence of his Moto2 World Championship started disastrously when he and a number of other top riders including Alex Rins (Paginas Amarillas HP 40) and Sam Lowes (Federal Oil Gresini Moto2)were given ride through penalties for jump starts.

Pole sitter Jonas Folger (Dynavolt Intact GP) however made a perfect start and gradually built up a commanding lead before crashing out in Turn 4 on the third lap. This left Franco Morbidelli (Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS) in the lead closely followed by Thomas Luthi (Garage Plus Interwetten) in second and Takaaki Nakagami (Idemitsu Honda Team Asia) in third. However, Nakagami was also given a ride through penalty because of a jump start leaving Simone Corsi (Speed Up Racing ) and Sandro Cortese (Dynavolt Intact GP ) fighting for third place.

Luthi and Morbidelli fought for the lead right up to the end with Luthi finally taking victory. However, the drama was not over. Late in the race both Morbidelli and Cortese were penalised for jumping the start and because it was too late for a ride through penalty they were both penalised 20 seconds. This left Luis Salom (SAG Team), who had caught and passed Corsi, in second place and Corsi third.

In fourth place was Hafizh Syahrin (Petronas Raceline Malaysia) with Dominique Aegerter (CarXpert Interwetten ) fifth and Danny Kent (Leopard Racing) sixth.


1    Thomas LUTHI (SWI)         Garage Plus Interwetten            Kalex                     40’14.293
2    Luis SALOM (SPA)         SAG Team                        Kalex                     +9.610
3    Simone CORSI (ITA)         Speed Up Racing                 Speed Up              +9.665


 Niccolo Antonelli (Ongetta-Rivacold) won an exciting Moto3 race by crossing the finish line just 0.007 seconds ahead of second placed Brad Binder (Red Bull KTM Ajo) with Frencesco Bagnaia (ASPAR Mahindra Team Moto3) less than 0.2 seconds away in third place.

In fourth place was pole sitter Romano Fenati (SKY Racing Team VR46) with Enea Bastianini (Gresini Racing Moto3) in fifth and Moto3 rookie Nicolo Bulega (SKY Racing Team VR46) sixth.


1     Niccolò ANTONELLI (ITA)       Ongetta-Rivacold               Honda                   38’12.161
2    Brad BINDER (RSA)         Red Bull KTM Ajo             KTM                     +0.007
3    Francesco BAGNAIA (ITA)        ASPAR Mahindra Team Moto3       Mahindra               +0.148




Join the discussion One Comment

Leave a Reply