Bwin Czech Republic Grand Prix, Race Results 17 August 2014

By August 19, 2014 News, Uncategorized

Dani does Brno…

Bwin Czech Republic Grand Prix, Race Results

17 August 2014




In front of a 138,000 crowd Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda) took the twentysixth MotoGP win of his career beating Jorge Lorenzo (Movistar Yamaha) into second with Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha) third. Pedrosa took the lead from Lorenzo early in the race and looked in complete control until he crossed the finish line.


Championship leader and winner of the first ten races of the season, Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda) finished fourth after a fairing bashing battle with Andrea Iannone (Pramac Racing Ducati) early in the race and then a battle with Rossi for third place later in the race which Rossi won.


Iannone eventually finished fifth after a close battle with Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) who finished sixth.


Top open class finisher was Aleix Espargaro (NGM Forward Racing Yamaha) in eighth place.


1st:          Dani Pedrosa (SPA)                         Repsol Honda                                                                    42’47.800

2nd:         Jorge Lorenzo (SPA)                       Movistar Yamaha                                                             +0.410

3rd:          Valentino Rossi (ITA)                     Movistar Yamaha                                                             +5.259



Esteve Rabat (Marc VDS Tracing Team Kalex) took the lead from the start of the race and was never headed winning his fifth Moto2 race of the season. Second was Rabat’s team mate Mika Kallio with third going to former Moto3 World champion Sandro Cortese (Dynavolt Intact GP Kalex) who took his first ever Moto2 podium.


With the win Rabat extends his Championship lead over Kallio to 12 points.


Thomas Luthi (Interwetten Paddock Moto2 Suter) took fourth after holding off a lengthy challenge from fellow Swiss rider Dominique Aegerter (Technomag CarXpert Suter) who finished fifth ahead of a fast finishing Maverick Vinales (Paginas Amarillas HP 40 Kalex) in sixth.


1st:          Esteve Rabat (SPA)                         Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex                                      41’05.058

2nd:         Mika Kallio (FIN)                              Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex                                      +3.274

3rd:          Sandro Cortese (GER)                    Dynavolt Intact GP Kalex                                              +6.227


Moto 3 


In his 133rd Grand Prix race appearance Alexis Masbou (Ongetta-Rivacold Honda) won his first ever Grand Prix race in a tight finish which saw the first five riders cross the finishing line within 0.201s.


Second place went to Enea Bastianini (Junior Team GO&FUN Moto3 KTM) with Danny Kent (Red Bull Husqvarna Ajo) third.


Pole sitter Alex Marquez (Estrella Galicia 0,0 Honda) finished fourth just ahead of Championship leader Jack Miller (Red Bull KTM Ajo) in fifth. This result extends Miller’s lead in the Championship to 23 point ahead of Marquez who takes over second spot from Efren Vazquez.


1st:          Alexis Masbou (FRA)                      Ongetta- Rivacold Honda                                             40’59.759

2nd:         Enea Bastianini (ITA)                      Junior Team GO & FUN Moto3 KTM                         +0.157

3rd:          Danny Kent (GBR)                            Red Bull Husqvarna Ajo                                                                +0.187

 Image from:

World Championship Standings 17 August 2014    
After 11 Rounds
1Marc MARQUEZHondaSPA263
2Dani PEDROSAHondaSPA186
3Valentino ROSSIYamahaITA173
4Jorge LORENZOYamahaSPA137
5Andrea DOVIZIOSODucatiITA118
6Aleix ESPARGAROForward YamahaSPA85
8Andrea IANNONEDucatiITA73
9Stefan BRADLHondaGER65
10Bradley SMITHYamahaGBR65
1Esteve RABATKalexSPA208
2Mika KALLIOKalexFIN196
3Maverick VIÑALESKalexSPA150
4Dominique AEGERTERSuterSWI123
5Simone CORSIKalexITA100
6Thomas LUTHISuterSWI81
7Anthony WESTSpeed UpAUS65
8Luis SALOMKalexSPA62
9Johann ZARCOCaterham SuterFRA59
10Sandro CORTESEKalexGER58
2Alex MARQUEZHondaSPA146
3Efren VAZQUEZHondaSPA145
5Alex RINSHondaSPA125
6Alexis MASBOUHondaFRA117
9Miguel OLIVEIRAMahindraPOR71
10Brad BINDERMahindraRSA66

Leave a Reply