Monthly Archives

July 2016


By Uncategorized No Comments


In a flag to flag wet race Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team), after being unable to match the pace of the leading group led by Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team), took a gamble on the seventeenth lap and entered the pits changing to a bike with slicks. This decision proved a master stroke on a drying track with Marquez immediately lapping much faster than the rest of the field, passing everyone to win the race by over nine seconds.

Second place went to Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda), who like most riders left the change to slicks too late finishing ahead of Andrea Dovizioso who passed the intermediate tyre shod Scott Redding (OCTO pramac Yakhinch) for third spot on the last lap leaving Redding a disappointed fourth.

Fifth place went to Andrea Iannone (Ducati Team) with Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda Team) sixth.

Championship contenders Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) and Jorge Lorenzo (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) had a poor race with Rossi finishing eighth and Lorenzo fifteenth.

1    Marc MARQUEZ (SPA)          Repsol Honda Team               Honda        47’03.239
2    Cal CRUTCHLOW (GBR)      LCR Honda                               Honda        +9.857
3    Andrea DOVIZIOSO (ITA)    Ducati Team                              Ducati        +11.613


In a wet race which saw race leaders Takaaki Nkagami (IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia) and Franco Morbidelli (Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS) fall Johann Zarco (Ajo Motorsport) narrowly took the win over Jonas Folger (Dynavolt Intact GP) in second, beating Folger to the line after Folger passed him on the last corner of the race.

Third place went to Julian Simon (QMMF Racing Team) who inherited the position after Alex Rins (Paginas Amarillas HP 40) crashed out of a secure looking third spot late in the race.

In fourth place was Mattia Pasini (Italtrans Racing Team) with Lorenzo Baldassarri (Forward Team Kalex) fifth and Luca Marini (Forward Team Kalex)sixth.


1     Johann ZARCO (FRA)               Ajo Motorsport                 Kalex                 47’18.646
2    Jonas FOLGER (GER)               Dynavolt Intact GP           Kalex                +0.059
3    Julian SIMON (SPA)                  QMMF Racing Team       Speed Up         +20.433

Khairul Idham Pawi (Honda Team Asia) took his second race win in his rookie season when, in a wet race and starting from twentieth on the grid, he took the lead on lap five and was never headed, winning by over eleven seconds.

In second place was Andrea Locatelli (Leopard Racing) with pole sitter Enea Bastianini (Gresini Racing Moto3) third.

Jakub Kornfeil finished fourth ahead of Fabio Di Giannantonio (Gresini Racing Moto3) in fifth and John McPhee (Peugeot MC Saxoprint) sixth.

Championship Leader Brad Binder (Red Bull Ajo KTM) rode a steady race to finish eighth.


1    Khairul Idham PAWI (MAL)         Honda Team Asia              Honda             47’07.763
2    Andrea LOCATELLI (ITA)            Leopard Racing                  KTM                +11.131
3    Enea BASTIANINI (ITA)              Gresini Racing Moto3        Honda            +13.359


By Uncategorized No Comments



Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) again took pole position in the Sachsenring, his fourth straight at the German circuit and having won the MotoGP race from pole for the past three years. In second spot on the starting grid will be Hector Barbera (Avintia Racing), his highest ever qualifying position which he achieved on one of the oldest Ducatis in the MotoGP paddock.

Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP)will start from third place. Rossi had exactly the same lap time as fourth place qualifier Danilo Petrucci (OCTO Pramac Yaknich) but grabbed third place because his second fastest qualifying lap was quicker than Petrucci’s.

In fifth place will be Pol Espargaro (Monster Yamaha Tech 3) with Maverick Vinales (Team SUZUKI ECSTAR) sixth.

Jorge Lorenzo (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) had disastrous practice and qualifying sessions. He crashed three times, once in each of practice, Q1 and Q2. He will start eleventh on the grid.

Front row:

1     Marc MARQUEZ (SPA)             Repsol Honda Team                Honda            1’21.160
2     Hector BARBERA (SPA)           Avintia Racing                           Ducati           +0.412
3     Valentino ROSSI (ITA)             Movistar Yamaha MotoGP      Yamaha       +0.506


After taking his first eve Moto2 win in Assen Takaaki Nakagami continued his good form by taking his first Moto2 pole since 2013. In second place will be Johann Zarco (Ajo Motorsport) who celebrated his birthday on qualifying day. Alex Rins (Paginas Amarillas HP 40) will complete the front row of the starting grid in third.

Starting in fourth place will be Simone Corsi (Speed Up Racing) with Franco Morbidelli (Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS) fifth and Sandro Cortese (Dynavolt Intact GP ) sixth.

Front row:

1    Takaaki NAKAGAMI (JPN)         IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia      Kalex             1’24.274
2    Johann ZARCO (FRA)                  Ajo Motorsport                                Kalex             +0.240
3    Alex RINS (SPA)                            Paginas Amarillas HP 40               Kalex             +0.367


In qualifying that was interrupted by a red flag because of oil spillage Enea Bastianini (Gresini Racing Moto3) grabbed pole late in the resumed session to take his second consecutive pole. In second place on the starting grid will be Andrea Locatelli (Leopard Racing) with Moto3 rookie Aron Canet (Estrella Galicia 0,0) third.

In fourth place on the grid will be Bo Bensneyder (Red Bull KTM Ajo) with Jorge Navarro (Estrella Galicia 0,0) fifth and Championship leader Brad Binder (Red Bull Ktm Ajo) sixth.

Less than one second covers the top twelve qualifiers.

Front row:

1    Enea BASTIANINI (ITA)          Gresini Racing Moto3        Honda                   1’27.129
2    Andrea LOCATELLI (ITA)       Leopard Racing                   KTM                     +0.319
3    Aron CANET (SPA)                    Estrella Galicia 0,0             Honda                   +0.372