Gran Premio Movistar de Aragón – Qualifying Results 24 September 2016

By September 25, 2016 Uncategorized


Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) took his 64th pole with a lap 0.6 sec. quicker than any other rider could manage. Second on the starting grid will be Maverick Vinales (Team SUZUKI ECSTAR) with Jorge Lorenzo (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) leaving it until his last qualifying lap to take third spot.

Heading the second row of the starting grid in fourth place will be Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) ahead of Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda) in fifth and Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) sixth.

Previous race winner Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda Team) will start from seventh position.

Front row:

1    Marc MARQUEZ (SPA)                  Repsol Honda Team                                  Honda              1’47.117
2    Maverick VIÑALES (SPA)             Team SUZUKI ECSTAR                            Suzuki             +0.631
3    Jorge LORENZO (SPA)                  Movistar Yamaha MotoGP                       Yamaha           +0.661


Sam Lowes (Federal Oil Gresini Moto2) left it until late in the qualifying session to take pole from second placed Alex Marquez (Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS) thus denying the Marquez brothers from taking a family double pole. Third place went to Takaaki Nakagami (IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia) who continues to show good form.

Starting from fourth spot will be Jonas Folger (Dynavolt Intact GP) ahead of championship leader Johann Zarco (Ajo Motorsport) in fifth with Misano winner Lorenzo Baldassarri (Forward Team) sixth.

Championship contender Alex Rins (Paginas Amarillas HP 40) will start the race from thirteenth place.

Front row:

1    Sam LOWES (GBR)                              Federal Oil Gresini Moto2                   Kalex               1’53.207
2   Alex MARQUEZ (SPA)                         Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS            Kalex               +0.054
3   Takaaki NAKAGAMI (JPN)                 IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia            Kalex               +0.284


Pole position went to Enea Bastianini (Gresini Racing Moto3) with Jorge Navarro (Estrella Galicia 0,0) taking second spot. Livio Loi (RW Racing GP BV) had the third fastest qualifying time but has been given a 3-place grid penalty and will start from sixth. Fourth fastest qualifier was Gabriel Rodrigo (RBA Racing Team) but he has been given a 4-place grid penalty and will start the race from eighth place.

Resulting from these penalties Aron Canet (Estrella Galicia 0,0) will move from fifth to third on the starting grid with Philip Oettl (Schedl GP Racing) moving from sixth to fifth and championship leader Brad Binder (Red Bull KTM Ajo) promoted from seventh to sixth.

Front row:

1    Enea BASTIANINI (ITA)                    Gresini Racing Moto3                   Honda                       1’58.293
2   Jorge NAVARRO (SPA)                       Estrella Galicia 0,0                        Honda                       +0.213
3   Aron CANET (SPA)                               Estrella Galicia 0,0                        Honda                      +0.465

Leave a Reply